Skip to content

DAY 3 – YOUR PARENTS

December 9, 2011

April 2011

Meet my parents, Joseph and Vicky. Many think they’re the perfect pair and many envy the way they’re still so in love after more than twenty years of marriage. Just look at that picture up there, and you’d be able to tell so much about them already.

Ever since I was little I knew that when I grew up, I wanted a love like theirs. Their love story is one of the most beautiful ones I have ever known. Best friends in high school, falling in love, breaking up, realizing things, getting back together… getting married; totally movie-worthy. Until now, I think one of the best things about them, and one of the greatest gifts any parents could give their kids, is their love for each other.

I also wanted to be as good a parent as they both are. They have their differences but, it makes a pretty good balance. It makes them a great team.

My mom’s a superwoman and I don’t know how she does it. She can manage to plan the transportation for the day, do her job, be in charge of the household, be involved in the lives of her kids, do everything else a mom needs to do and still remain in one piece. Even if she has every reason to stay in bed in the morning, she still wakes up to have breakfast with us before school. She’s the type of mom that you can also call a friend, the type who bothers to get to know the people you hang out with, and the type whom you can actually “make kwento” with. Unlike many other mothers, she actually makes sense. I definitely learn a lot from our conversations.

My dad is, hands down, a cool dad. Those who know him will agree with me. He has a different style of doing things. When we were younger, we used to wake up to the sound of a wooden spoon clanking loudly on a pan. Or at night, I’d hear noises in the kitchen, and I’d catch him whipping up a banana split or something. He seemed always carefree. I never understood why, but it made things more fun so, why not? He reminds me of me. I’m like him in many ways. It’s possibly the reason why we get each other. We called our father – daughter time “chis-mis”. Weird but, true. At five years old, I’d be talking non-stop about my plans of changing the world, or building a city, or putting up a dog shelter or whatnot. Nothing was too insignificant for him to listen to. Plus, he was always a wise guy. So, I picked up a lot from our conversations as well.

Both my parents have incredible voices. My siblings and I were just lucky to get the good genes. Both of them make time for us kids, which is great. Both of them believe in the importance of openness and communication. I actually think it’s one of the main reasons why we’re all so close. I wish I could tell you more about them. But, there are just too many things to say.

Like many others, I think they’re the perfect pair too. And needless to say, I’m lucky to have them.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

