Skip to content

Day 17 – Another Moment

April 1, 2012
tags: ,

“Honesty is the best policy.”

Taking that into consideration, it would be only right to avoid writing about all the magical, zestful moments of life which I would have wanted to talk about… if I were in “more suitable” circumstances. But since I’m planning to be real here, allow me to share one of life’s not – so – spectacular moments.

Have you ever caught yourself in a moment wherein you seem to be at a loss?

You’re just there.

Sitting.

Breathing…

Calm. Yet, trapped between a billion paradoxes.

You’re thinking of so many things, and absolutely nothing at the same time.

There seems to be so much time on your hands but, by the time you get back in the zone, you will have wasted hours doing nothing.

Yes, this sort of moment lasts for hours.

Seldom am I faced with these moments but, they come strong every time. It takes such a big, conscious effort to escape because… of course, there’s always a temptation to let go of all the self – control and just bask in an endless pool of lethargy. Now, isn’t that much easier than torturing ourselves with discipline?

It definitely is. No question there.

Unfortunately, with these moments, come choices we have to make. And as with most situations in life, there are always two different paths to choose form. “Take the narrow road” as most would say. But, it’s up to you. Always is. You have to choose, though. Or else, you’d get stuck in that moment. And believe me, it’s not the type of moment you’d want to get stuck in.

(If your mind were a computer in a moment like this, it’d be lagging. That’s probably the best way to put it.)

I guess this is one of those open – ended topics about life. There’s no definite answer to the question “What do I do in a situation like this?” and no one – for – all, guaranteed – success piece of advice. It’s one of those things wherein you need to strike a balance, and apply the concept of golden moderation. It’s different for everybody.

This is just me talking to myself now: Why is it that whenever I attempt to be honest, I end up with no concrete conclusion? Except that… it really depends on the person or situation, or whatever. Strange… but, there you have it. That was an honest narration of my not – so – spectacular moment, which by the way, is still on – going right now.

On that note, I’m going to shut off this computer now and finally decide whether or not I’m going to take the narrow road. Happy April 1st!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

