Skip to content

Just Paint Already

April 2, 2012

This was a by – product of the Youth Room project a few friends and I were assigned to do.

(Above is a picture of how the room looks today!)

Our task for the day was to paint the staggered wood on the walls.
But, we got carried away… and it was so much fun!

I’ve always wanted to paint but, I never really thought about what my subject would be, whether or not I’d even have one, or how to go about the process. Because of that, I never painted.

This Youth Room experience made me think: Oh, what the heck. Just paint already!

Without the outcome in mind, I grabbed a brush and just started painting. Actually, it was more of whipping random colors  and dabbing different types of varnish onto the piece of wood. It looked interesting in the end. Not something anyone would display in a museum but… okay for a first attempt at painting whipping and dabbing, I guess.

Sometimes, we over – analyze things in our heads and make them seem so out of reach when in reality, that sort of thinking could be the very reason we aren’t able to actually do what we want to do.

Our minds are powerful enough to make us believe that something is too difficult to be done but with that same power, our minds can push us to do it anyway.

Sometimes, you just gotta use your head. 

Tell yourself to do things even if there’s absolutely no motivation.
And then, do it.
Even if you seem to have every excuse in the world not to.
And even if you fear a horrible outcome.

Obviously, I’m not just talking about painting anymore.
I’m talking about things you have to get done and things you’ve always wanted to do.

Apart from that, I guess I felt the need to make up for the my past entries wherein it was so obvious that I had almost been consumed by the lazy atmosphere that summer provides. Of course, you can’t be productive all the time. People need to rest. That’s a fact I often have to remind myself of.  And no matter how much I hate that fact, rest is really necessary. If I made it a point to really rest once in a while, I probably wouldn’t fall so deep into lazy spells whenever they come along. (That’s what I wrote about in my previous entry.)

But, here I am in another attempt to get myself back on track.
I said this before but, I’ll say it again…
Sometimes, all we really need to do is do.

 I’ve been putting off some work, actually.
But, what the heck. I’ll just work already.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2012 1:58 pm

    Love the texture and the variety of colors! And I like the first photo very much. Great job!

  2. April 4, 2012 11:02 am

    Thanks so much! I was experimenting, haha. Glad you like it 🙂

Leave a Reply

