Skip to content

Day 21 – Your Favorite Memory

June 17, 2012

That’s quite easy. My favorite memory… a topic that I never get tired of; something I love sharing with others, and something I’m definitely going to make kwento to my future children.

My childhood at Antipolo.

Oh, to be a kid again.

As much as I love my house now, I can’t help but miss the place where I grew up. It wasn’t anything fancy but to me and my cousins, it was beautiful. It was our very own Narnia, our own little world, and no one will ever understand why we get so emotional about leaving it behind… and losing it. There were too many memories that were made there and now, all we can do is talk about it. Reminisce. There’s always a mixture of happiness and heartbreak whenever we do. But no matter how happy and great the stories are, talking about it is the closest we’ll ever get. There will never be another place like our compound in Antipolo.

Kinda sad, right?

But, I miss everything about it.

(Okay, there are a lot of inside things in this next paragraph.)

I miss climbing trees and playing in the mud and jumping off waterfalls. I miss playing Shark in the pool or playing Tackle on the grass. I miss spending hours cleaning an entire area just to be able to sit down and watch the sunset. I miss making clubhouses out of ply wood and sleeping under the stars at night. I miss chanting like a crazy person while baptizing newborn puppies while walking around bonfires. I miss sharpening sticks and roasting hotdogs and marshmallows. I miss pretending to be cats on the roof, so that Lolo wouldn’t catch us. I miss swinging on branches like Tarzan and watching the sunset on the roof. I miss hiking in our very own jungle and receiving letters in our handmade mailboxes. I miss living in 101 Beagle Street. I miss singing at the top of my lungs in the middle of the basketball court and screaming at Tita Puwet – puwet and raiding Lola’s pantry and shopping at Home Sweet Home every Saturday morning. I miss eating santol with toyo and salt and eating kamias with patis and sugar and having sleepovers every summer night.

I miss Supreme Six being together every single day without a care in the world. To be a kid is to be anything you want to be, right? And we were… everything! We were The Stoofitos, the greatest super heroes of all time. We were The Fantabulous Five and The Adventure Squad. We were soldiers. Explorers. Sharp shooters. Frog hunters. Ant terminators. Some of us were unimpeachable presidents, while others were lowly messengers. Some of us were apes and others were bigfoots. There was a magic swing that made us all… either fly or well, become mermaids. Basketball courts would turn into amazing musical theater stages. There was a jungle in the backyard and we’ve ziplined down through the trees and discovered secret lairs that held ancient treasure. There were exotic creatures that would have died without our assistance… and other wildlife that would’ve killed us if it weren’t for our trustee speed boat that ensured our safety.

We lived in a world with no boredom and no limits.

And then we grew up.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2012 11:48 am

    Beautiful description of an idyllic childhood…such a shame we have to grow up…

  2. June 17, 2012 11:58 am

    Thank you! And yeah, that’s true. 😦

  3. June 17, 2012 11:24 pm

    😦

  4. Neighbor Tita permalink
    June 18, 2012 3:58 pm

    Awww…. precious. And that awesome childhood has brought forth, diamonds in the rough 🙂 Grew up, yes, but still children of the King and the adventure will continue for no eye has seen nor ear has heard, nor mind has conceived what God has in store for those who love Him.

Leave a Reply

