Skip to content

Model Number One

June 26, 2012

This is my very first model. My very first heart break. Haha, kidding.

The thing about firsts is that, well, most times, you have no idea what you’re doing. No one really gives you a step by step guide anymore, especially in college. I imagined myself making my first scale model in class, and the professors were telling us about the best materials to use, how to cut the boards, how to stick walls together and things like that. But come design class, the professor simply said “Make your models. They’re due next meeting.” and that was it.

We had to figure everything out for ourselves. I now understand perfectly why sleepless nights are such a common thing for people in this course. There’s A LOT of work to do. You can even spend hours just thinking about a design concept. That’s probably the hardest part.

But, I spent almost an entire weekend on this:

I know what you’re thinking.

An entire weekend… and that’s all you got?

That’s what I thought when I looked at the final product. I realized after, that CLEAN and SIMPLE is really the way I do things… but, it could be a really big disadvantage to me right now since, I’m in my first year and they’re looking for DARING, EXAGGERATED, OUT OF THIS WORLD designs. Something I really have to work on.

I wasn’t happy with the grade I got.

But, after taking time to process things, (Yes, I make sure I have time for that!) I decided to stop beating myself up over this. It’s only my first… out of who knows how many? After finishing up with this model, we already got our next assignment. And every week, there’ll be a new model to work on, plus around 4 plates to do along with that. It’s going to be very difficult but, I cannot explain how excited I am to improve. Hopefully by, my next few plates and models my professors will see a difference and I’ll have an easier time making them. The only way I can get better is if I keep doing work. Practice makes perfect… you a lot better, right? Right. That’s something I have to keep in mind.

I can’t help but get intimidated when I look at the work of all those big time architects and amazing designers. How in the world will I come up with a design as good as that? That’s something I say in my head all the time. However, I know that none of them would’ve gotten where they are now without putting themselves through piles and piles of work. All experts were once beginners that stood where I now stand, felt what I now feel and feared what I now fear… and all of them started with model number one. 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Joseph permalink
    July 1, 2012 4:16 pm

    I love it!!!!!!!!

  2. August 9, 2012 2:06 am

    It turned out great, Kars 🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

