Skip to content

Day 29 – Your Aspirations

November 6, 2012

Where do I start?

Being the kind of person I am, it’ll be really hard to tell you everything. But since you’re supposed to be reading a blog and not a novel, I shall try to keep this entry short. (keyword: try.)

When I was a kid, my ultimate dream was to become an architect and build a foundation that’ll solve all the problems of the Philippines. I know. I was an ambitious child. Back then, it seemed pretty do-able. I even found my plan, which was written on a tissue paper with all the details. Please understand that I formulated this master plan when I was about 8 years old…

First, I would choose several families from certain areas that needed help and take them to live in a community which I will have built with my handy dandy BS architecture degree. (Problem # 1 – Informal Settlers, solved! )  The parents would work for me; fathers will do the manual labor and mothers will take on the artsy jobs, and that would instantly solve Problem # 2 – Unemployment. And according to my super – detailed – tissue – paper – plan, it would also solve Problem # 3 – Child Labor, because, of course, their children wouldn’t be working for me… they’d be in school! And that would solve the country’s lack of education. Now, when I say “working for me”, I mean they’d be employees in my company, that’d sell products designed by myself, which will be made from… 100% RECYCLED PAPER. (Problem # 12345, solved!!Lastly, the community would have a church in the center, so that all those families can know and love Jesus!

Piece of cake.
NOT!!!

If only things could be that simple.

So, how might have things changed in 10 years?

About that architecture degree… I’m happy to say that I’m working on it. That’s still the plan… but, a billion things seem to have been added on. Now, I have no idea how I’m gonna become an architect, make my business legit, live on my own, and travel the world before I decide to settle down, get married and be a mom and live happily ever after with my future family. How will all those aspirations fit in a single lifetime?

Forgive me, I’m a dreamer. Too much of a dreamer, actually.

And I realize only now, after typing 400 words, that I haven’t exactly given you a clear cut list. “The following are my aspirations: 1, 2, 3,….” That kind of thing. But, I guess I captured enough in that bold sentence up there.

Although I may have countless lists of “Things I Want To Do During Sem Break”, plus a yearly list of resolutions and must – do’s, plus a weekly list of Something New’s, and a Bucket List, to top it all off… and even if I may want to write an inspirational book, teach kids art and music, sell Details Ink. products at Christmas bazaars, plan a million charity events, learn Spanish, take a generic tourist photo beside the Leaning Tower of Pisa, ride an elephant, build a house with a view for my parents, live in a studio type condo when I’m 25 and not yet married, go to some random country on my own just for fun AND finally get my freakin driver’s license, (whew! I got carried away.) all those things are mere sub points, a list I can add to and take away from any time I want, depending on my mood, my age or whatever phase I’m in at that point in life.

The main thing will always and forever be… experience? adventure? or living life to the fullest? Call it what you wish. The thing I want most in life, (which is most probably not a thing) I still can’t explain in a single, concise sentence that’s perfectly worded out. And I’m sorry for that. (I’m also sorry for the length of this entry.)

I guess not much has changed in 10 years after all. I’m still the same dreamer that I was although, I no longer believe that solving all the country’s problems is that easy. So much for setting up that foundation…

But hey, who knows? I just might!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. ADAM & naomi permalink
    November 6, 2012 8:21 am

    Loved your post! Without dreams, we would still be trying to get to the moon by jumping really really high. Or slice bread with a chisel. So be proud of your dreams and love the adventures that happen along the way : )

    • November 6, 2012 8:25 am

      Wow, thanks for reading!
      “So be proud of your dreams and love the adventures that happen along the way” – I’ll remember that! 🙂

  2. November 6, 2012 2:56 pm

    I wanted the D-R-E-A-M block letters this girl has on her bed…look behind her…you don’t have to listen to what she’s saying, it’s just kakikayan lol…LOVE you Kara, keep on dreaming…

  3. November 6, 2012 9:35 pm

    “it’s just kakikayan” HAHAHA but wow the letters look so nice! 🙂 ideas… ideas! Hahaha. Love you, ate juls! Hey don’t forget the book next time ha hihihi

  4. November 16, 2012 3:59 am

    I found something similar elsewhere and really enjoyed. Some more of this please! Thank you

  5. Gio Arceo :] permalink
    November 19, 2012 12:40 pm

    HAHA! hey Kara! i really enjoyed this! HEHE. keep it upppp 😀

Trackbacks

  1. My Passion Refill: Eat Pray Love | Strange I Am

Leave a Reply

