Skip to content

Chillaxtoids to the Maxtoids

November 8, 2012
(Don’t mind the title. It’s an inside joke that I just couldn’t help but, use.)

One of the best things about being in college is that you have so much time on your hands. The real trick, as I’ve learned, is to use it well. Don’t waste time. It’s the simplest and most obvious rule there is and yet, it’s probably the hardest one to live out. Annoying, huh?

Yesterday was the second day of my second semester. The thing about the first week of class in UST is that, well, there are barely any. It’s the calm before the storm, as many would call it. The ultimate chillax, petiks, pataps week of life… which should never be taken for granted. Ever. Because it may very well be the last time you’ll ever get a good night’s sleep.

So, what have I been doing with all this spare time?

Well, obviously, I’ve been blogging. (One entry everyday for the past three days now… when has that ever happened in my life?) I’ve been downloading new music. I’ve been reading and writing and drawing. All that while drinking my favorite Lipton Yellow Label tea!

But, here’s something (that I think and hope is) worth sharing.

One time, I found cheap recycled boxes at an art store beside my school. Their different shapes and sizes gave me so many different ideas. And yesterday, it just so happened that my 7 – 11 AM class ended before 8:00. (Mhmm. Shoudn’t have gone to school. I know.) So, I got so excited, bought several of those boxes and headed home.

Music + Arts and Crafts.
I’d definitely take that over a four hour class!

All I used were cut – out magazine ads, and some Art Attack inspired PVA glue…

Voila!
Pretty and functional boxes!

I did this at a sleepover with some friends, not too long ago. Even then, I could hardly wait to make more on my own and I couldn’t be happier to have already done so!

Am I shallow for allowing something this small to give me this much happiness?
If so, I apologize. Hohoho.

May these be the first of many, many pretty and functional boxes! At least, they’ll add some life to my storage areas.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

A day doing arts and crafts is a day well spent.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – 

I still have one more day before the week ends. By Monday, the work will probably start pouring in and I’ll probably blog less and less from there. By the third week, I will probably start wishing to go back here and now. And that is why I’m deciding to be grateful for this chillax, petiks, pataps week of life.

I will stop wishing for busy-ness.
I will stop saying the word free cut as if my time was wasted.
Instead,
I will embrace all this spare time.
I will blog and write and draw.
I will sleep.
I will pray.
I will download more music.
I will wrap more boxes.

I will store enough chill vibes to last an entire stress – filled year!

But, right now…
(8:46 PM)

I will post this blog entry.
I will shut down this laptop.
And I will read my book until I fall asleep.
🙂

(Thank you Lord for this: chill-age to the maximum level!)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2012 7:21 am

    Apparently, this type of art has a name! It’s called DECOUPAGE! And according to a very reliable site named Wikipedia…

    Decoupage (or découpage) is the art of decorating an object by gluing colored paper cutouts onto it in combination with special paint effects, gold leaf and so on. Commonly an object like a small box or an item of furniture is covered by cutouts from magazines or from purpose-manufactured papers. Each layer is sealed with varnishes (often multiple coats) until the “stuck on” appearance disappears and the result looks like painting or inlay work.

    🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Details Ink… Boxes? «

Leave a Reply

