Skip to content

Wall Art + Tiny Things

December 27, 2012

Oh, the things you can do when you have spare time on your hands! Yesterday was my me – day. You know, the kind of day wherein you don’t have any events to attend and you force yourself to ignore all other responsibilities or do homework or whatever? You tell yourself Today, I will do what I want to.

IMGP9256

I forgot to take a picture of the making of the word CREATE but, that up there is the final output. For a while I’ve been thinking of my word.

For those who’ve read Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert, yes, I got the idea from there. For those who haven’t, everyone sort of has a word that captures their very essence, if I may put it that way; a word that represents not what you do but, who you are or who you want to be. Something that captures your passion and inspires you to go further in that direction.

Am I making any sense here?

Well, anyway… CREATE. I decided to make that word the word simply because it’s such a beautiful word. It may not necessarily encapsulating my being but, it comes pretty close. I’ve always wanted my own space; a place for me to think and dream and be inspired to work and well, to create

The creating started immediately after as I unwrapped one of the best Christmas presents I got this year. (Yes, I know it’s for kids. Yes, I know I’m shallow. Yes, it makes me happy so, please. Don’t judge.)

IMGP9262

The World Famous Mini Architecture Series 4!!! Which includes the Statue of Liberty, The Leaning Tower of Pisa, The Empire State Building and other favorites. You basically have to put all the pieces together. That’s it. In the end, you get a bunch of miniature structures that you can either give or keep for display.

IMGP9273

IMGP9275

This is how it turned out in the end and I gotta say, I’m pretty happy with the result. I remember seeing this play set at Hobbes and Landes a few months ago and I decided that it was something wouldn’t buy for myself but, I’d really love to have it… and straight to the Christmas Wish List it went!

Notice the detail on each tiny model. One day, I really wanna make something on my own. From scratch. Wow. What a challenge…

IMGP9278

The Big Ben… yup, this one’s my favorite so far. I can imagine going there for real in the future… and bringing this little thing along with me and having a photo holding the model with the real thing on my background!

IMGP9289

The tiny models now sit perfectly on that ledge.

And that was my day, yesterday. Filled with creativity, productivity and rest! Such a rare thing nowadays. With academics to worry about, among a billion other things,  how I’d love to have more days like these. ❤

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

